9/12/14

So, Yesterday was full of televised tributes to 9/11. In the main, I think it’s necessary to the national psyche to have a benchmark to measure our healing and progress against. I worry though that it hurts those closest to the loss to see us all going on, pretty much the same as ever. Until losing my husband, I’d never given it much thought. I don’t personally know any of the families who lost loved ones on 9/11, but I hurt for them. I hurt because today it’s 13 years and a day after, and the media has moved to the next big topic, and the rest of the world has moved on, and for them, it’s 13 years and a day of pain, of grief, of missing, of not having their world back to normal.
I don’t doubt that the pain lessens some, but hopefully they know that they are not just forgotten the other 364 days of the year.

On a personal note, I’ve started back on prozac again for anxiety/PTSD. It works well for me, if I can stand the side effects (usually why I quit), I’ve noticed a change already (4 days in) in my sleep patterns, so I’m kinda hopeful. The anxiety this time of year is pretty crippling, so meds at least in the near term are helping with that some.

One thought on “9/12/14”

  1. dear Kate,

    paying witness with compassion to those who suffered losses on 9/11 was beautifully and thoughtfully written. I am glad to hear the medication for anxiety/PTSD has already begun to help you feel better – being able to have a better quality of sleep must feel very encouraging.

    sending big hope the side effects don’t bollix things up for you.

    Karen

Leave a Reply

